開始內容
裝飾
昂山素姬

第186屆 

頒授典禮

 (2012)

昂山素姬

名譽法學博士

昂山素姬女士為緬甸民主運動領袖,亦是諾貝爾和平獎得主,她是緬甸人民爭取自由的標誌,世界知名。於1945年出生的昂山素姬,是緬甸獨立運動英雄昂山將軍的女兒,昂山將軍被暗殺時,昂山素姬只有兩歲。

昂山素姬曾於緬甸、印度及英國唸書。她在英國牛津定居多年後,於1988年返回緬甸照顧病重的母親,期間緬甸爆發了全國大規模的民主運動,她亦有份參與,並受到軍政府武力鎮壓;之後,她成立了新政黨「全國民主聯盟」,成為領袖人物。

昂山素姬以全國民主聯盟秘書長身份,發表了多篇鼓吹自由民主的演說,她所領導的「全國民主聯盟」於1990年五月的全國大選取得了壓倒性勝利,然而她未能執政;由1989至2010的二十多年間,昂山素姬被軟禁在家達十五年。

1991年昂山素姬獲頒發諾貝爾和平獎。2010年她終於獲釋,可以離家外出。

2011年五月,昂山素姬應港大邀請擔任百周年傑出講座系列特邀講者,透過電視廣播與港大師生和校友作實時對話。

香港大學謹頒授名譽法學博士學位予昂山素姬,以表彰她致力以非暴力的方式爭取民主和人權。

 

裝飾

Main content start
decoration image
Aung San Suu Kyi

186th 

Congregation

 (2012)

Aung San Suu Kyi

Doctor of Laws
honoris causa

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, Burma's pro-democracy leader and Nobel Peace laureate, is a world-renowned figure who symbolises the struggle of Burma’s people to be free.  She was born in 1945, the daughter of Burma’s independence hero, General Aung San, who was assassinated when she was two years old.

Aung San Suu Kyi was educated in Burma, India, and the United Kingdom. After living for many years in Oxford, she returned to Burma in 1988 to nurse her dying mother. She soon became engaged in the country’s nationwide democracy uprising, which the military regime suppressed with brute force. She was a key figure in forming a new pro-democracy party, the National League for Democracy (NLD)

As NLD General Secretary, Aung San Suu Kyi gave numerous speeches calling for freedom and democracy. Her party won the 1990 general election in a landslide victory, but was not allowed to take power. Aung San Suu Kyi herself was placed under house arrest in 1989, and spent 15 of the next 20 years in detention.

Aung San Suu Kyi was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1991 and was finally released from house arrest in 2010.

In May 2011, Aung San Suu Kyi had a dialogue with HKU students, staff and alumni through a real-time televised broadcast as a featured speaker of the Centenary Distinguished Lecture series.

In recognition of her commitment to non-violent struggle for democracy and human rights, the University has resolved to confer upon Daw Aung San Suu Kyi the degree of Doctor of Laws honoris causa.

decoration image