開始內容
裝飾
余宇康

第182屆 

頒授典禮

 (2010)

余宇康

名譽社會科學博士

余宇康教授是港大畢業生,於1958年獲頒內外全科醫學士學位,之後在瑪麗醫院完成臨床培訓,並往英國倫敦大學學院醫院參與研究,於1966年獲授哲學博士學位。其後,他返回港大任教,於內科學系擔任講師及高級講師等職,並於1972年獲頒醫學博士學位。1973年,余教授開始私人執業但繼續在系內擔任名譽臨床講師,之後又升任為名譽臨床教授。

余教授現時仍任港大內科學系名譽教授,同時亦是香港中文大學醫學院內科及藥物治療學系名譽教授、律敦治醫院及瑪嘉烈醫院名譽顧問醫生,並且是香港內科醫學院院士、英國及澳洲三所皇家內科醫學院的院士,以及香港及新加坡醫學院院士。

余教授熱心支持香港內科醫學院的工作,除了擔任創院名譽秘書(1986-1995),又出任副院長專責教育事務(1993-1995),並於1998至2004年間擔任該院院長。此外,他先後出任律敦治醫院、鄧肇堅醫院 (1992-2002)、瑪麗醫院及贊育醫院(由2003年起)的醫院管治委員會委員。

余教授一直秉持提升香港醫療教育水平的信念,多年來致力提升香港醫生的培訓教育、醫院服務及醫療界的水平,令香港社會整體得以跟香港內科醫學院一樣,不斷受惠於余教授的睿智。現時他擔任高級內科醫生培訓委員會的主席,正檢討現行的年度考核及專業考試制度,致力提升現有制度的公平性、透明度及問責性。

香港大學頒授名譽社會科學博士學位予余宇康教授,以表揚他對醫學及社會所作出的貢獻。

裝飾

Main content start
decoration image
Richard YU Yue Hong

182nd 

Congregation

 (2010)

Richard YU Yue Hong

Doctor of Social Sciences
honoris causa

Professor Richard Yue Hong Yu graduated from HKU with an MBBS degree in 1958, after which he completed his clinical training at Queen Mary Hospital and his research at University College Hospital, London, where he was awarded a PhD in 1966. Returning to HKU, he then held the posts of Lecturer and Senior Lecturer in the Department of Medicine, and completed his MD degree in 1972. Professor Yu went into private practice in 1973, but continued to teach in the Department as Honorary Clinical Lecturer and later as Honorary Clinical Associate Professor.

Professor Yu is currently Honorary Professor of the Department of Medicine at HKU, and of the Department of Medicine and Therapeutics at the Chinese University of Hong Kong; he is also an Honorary Consultant Physician at the Ruttonjee and Princess Margaret Hospitals.

Professor Yu is a Fellow of the College of Physicians in Hong Kong, the three Royal Colleges of Physicians in UK and Australia, and of the Academies of Medicine of Hong Kong and Singapore. He was the Founding Honorary Secretary of the Hong Kong College of Physicians (1986-1995), its Vice-President for Education (1993-1995), and then its President (1998-2004). He has served as a member of the Hospital Governing Committee of the Ruttonjee and Tang Shiu Kin Hospitals (1992-2002), and the Queen Mary Hospital and Tsan Yuk Hospital (since 2003).

Just as the Hong Kong College of Physicians continues to benefit from Professor Yu's wise counsel, so indeed does Hong Kong society as a whole, as he persists in his lifelong quest to raise the quality of medical education, hospital services and the medical sector overall. At present, he is the Chairman of the Higher Physician Training Committee, leading a revision exercise to implement changes in the Annual and Exit Examination for Higher Physician Trainees to ensure fairness, transparency and accountability.

In recognition of his contributions to medicine and the community, the University will confer upon Professor Richard Yue Hong Yu the degree of Doctor of Social Sciences honoris causa.

decoration image