開始內容
裝飾
余叔韶

第188屆 

頒授典禮

 (2013)

余叔韶

名譽法學博士

余叔韶先生是香港著名的訴訟律師。他於香港出生,就讀於香港華仁書院。1938那年,年方十六的余叔韶考獲政府獎學金並入讀香港大學文學系。

1941年,余先生先替英國海軍情報局工作,後轉投中國國民黨政治部,任陸軍少校。1945年,他考獲香港政府勝利獎學金負笈英國牛津大學,於梅頓學院攻讀法律,並於1949年考取英國及愛爾蘭大律師執業資格。

余先生於1951年獲委任為首位華人檢察官,並於1953年開展其個人的大律師業務。到1960年代中,他成為城中首屈一指的刑事大律師。他亦於當時協助香港大學成立法律學院,亦是本港創辦的首間法學院。

1970年至1980年期間,政府三度邀請余叔韶出任香港高等法院大法官,但基於聘任條款有欠公平,均遭其婉拒。另外,對很多本地、英國及其他殖民地同業趨之若鶩的御用大律師名銜,他亦自有看法,堅拒申請。

余先生在港執業三十年,於1983年退休,1994年獲香港大律師公會頒贈終身會員榮銜。

香港大學頒授名譽法學博士學位予余叔韶先生,以表彰他對社會和法律教育所作出的貢獻。

裝飾

Main content start
decoration image
Patrick YU Shuk Siu

188th 

Congregation

 (2013)

Patrick YU Shuk Siu

Doctor of Laws
honoris causa

Mr Patrick Shuk Siu Yu is a celebrated Hong Kong trial and appellate lawyer.

He was born in Hong Kong and attended Wah Yan College Hong Kong. In 1938, at age sixteen, he was admitted to the University of Hong Kong on a Government Scholarship. In 1941, Mr Yu served with the British Naval Intelligence and was commissioned as an officer in the Intelligence Corps of the Army of the Republic of China. Mr Yu began his studies at Merton College, Oxford in 1945 on a Hong Kong Government Victory Scholarship, and passed the bar exam of England and Wales in 1949.

In 1951, he became the first Chinese person to be appointed Crown Counsel in Hong Kong. Mr Yu started his own practice in 1953, and by the mid-1960s had established himself as the top criminal lawyer in the territory. It was also during this time that he helped to establish the HKU Faculty of Law, Hong Kong's first law school.

In the 1970s, Yu was offered a judgeship on the Supreme Court of Hong Kong, an invitation he declined. Two similar offers were subsequently made and declined on the grounds of the discriminatory employment terms. Yu was also known and respected for his refusal to apply to become Queen's Counsel.

Mr Yu retired in 1983 and became a Life Member of the Hong Kong Bar Association in 1994.

In recognition of his contributions to legal education and society, the University has resolved to confer upon him the degree of Doctor of Laws honoris causa.

decoration image