開始內容
裝飾
李維逹

第190屆 

頒授典禮

 (2014)

李維逹

名譽社會科學博士

李維達醫生是南加州大學理學士,主修化學;繼而於美國洛杉磯加州大學攻讀醫科,畢業後加入洛杉磯退伍軍人醫院任駐院眼科醫生,隨後於原校Jules Stein眼科研究所深造,獲授角膜及外眼疾病院士,並於1979年獲美國眼科醫學委員會文憑。

1980年,李醫生於養和醫院成立眼科部,自此一直擔任眼科部執行總監;他同時獲委任為養和醫院副院長,其後升任院長及養和醫院董事會主席,並獲選為李樹芬醫學基金會主席。

李醫生獲港大頒授名譽大學院士,現為港大眼科學系及李嘉誠醫學院名譽教授。李醫生一直以來積極支持港大,在推動醫學教育研究尤其著力,他與多位醫生一同設立了李樹培基金教授席(外科)。

李醫生成就卓越,為美國眼科醫學會院士、香港醫學專科學院院士(眼科)、香港眼科醫學院院士,以及英國格拉斯哥皇家醫學院內科榮授院士。

香港大學頒授名譽社會科學博士學位予李維達醫生,以表彰他對社會和醫學界所作出的貢獻。

 

裝飾

Main content start
decoration image
Walton LI Wai Tat

190th 

Congregation

 (2014)

Walton LI Wai Tat

Doctor of Social Sciences
honoris causa

Dr Walton Li Wai Tat holds a BS (Chemistry) degree from the University of Southern California, and a MD degree from the University of California, Los Angeles. He served as a Resident in Ophthalmology at the Veterans Administration Hospital in Los Angeles, and was granted a fellowship in Corneal & External Ocular Disease at the Jules Stein Eye Institute, University of California, Los Angeles, School of Medicine. In 1979, he became a Diplomate of the American Board of Ophthalmology.

In 1980, he established and has since been Head of the Department of Ophthalmology at the Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital, where he has also served as Deputy Medical Superintendent. He is currently the Medical Superintendent and Chairman of the Hospital's Board of Directors and the elected Chairman of the Li Shu Fan Medical Foundation.

At HKU, Dr Li is currently an Honorary Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology, an Honorary Professor in the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine, and an Honorary University Fellow. He has been a longtime supporter of HKU and, together with a number of doctors, helped establish the Li Shu Pui Endowed Professorship in Surgery.

Dr Li is a Fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine (Ophthalmology), the College of Ophthalmologists of Hong Kong, and the Royal College of Physicians (Glasgow).

In recognition of his contributions to medicine and society, the University has resolved to confer upon him the degree of Doctor of Social Sciences honoris causa.

decoration image