開始內容
裝飾
池田大作

第151屆 

頒授典禮

 (1996)

池田大作

名譽文學博士

宗教領袖、哲學家、作家、詩人、國際人道主義者、教育家、世界文化界名人——這些稱號都用以概括池田大作會長這位真正文藝復興人的貢獻與成就。他的成就已受到國際的注視和讚賞。但我們要頒發名譽學位予池田大作會長,主要原因是他具有作為一個教育者的卓越成就,他是一所大學的創辦人,又是香港大學的友人。

池田大作出生於日本東京,在東京受教育,年青時在第二次世界大戰期間度過。在戰爭中他失去了長兄。1947年他遇見創價學會領導人戶田城聖,成為了他的弟子。創價學會是一個以實踐十二世紀佛教僧人日蓮教義為目標的佛教團體。池田氏寫過:

人的生命都賦有各種的主題,

當一個人找到屬於他自己的主題,並

如一個演員般將這個主題演繹得淋漓盡至時,

一個偉大的夢想會隨之誕生。

他和戶田氏的邂逅,成了他一生中的轉折點。他找到了「屬於自己的主題」,能為實現這個「偉大的夢想」而開展了一生的活動。他參加了當時仍處於創辦初期的創價學會活動。那是一個主張和平主義,反對殺戮生命的運動。學會的領導人牧口常三郎和戶田城聖都曾因此遭受戰時日本政府的彈壓和逮捕。當戰爭結束後,主張和平主義、反核武、鼓吹社會公義的創價學會運動得到了厭倦戰爭、渴望戰後能夠出現一個新的社會經濟秩序的日本國民支持,開始迅速地發展。

1960年池田氏繼承戶田氏出任創價學會第三任會長。在池田氏的領導下,學會在教育及文化方面踏入了一個大革新及發展的階段。學會在日本各主要城市開設了許多幼稚園、小學、高等中學等教育設施。幾年前創價幼稚園亦先後在香港、新加坡、馬來西亞成立。而創價大學是在池田大作的倡議後數年時間内於1971年四月二日成立的。

學會在1963年成立民音,通過音樂活動致力推動文化交流,加強不同國別不同民族間的相互理解。民音除一方面邀請海外音樂藝術表演團到日本國内演出外,同時亦組織日本表演團到海外演出。在眾多訪日的世界著名藝術團中,包括了維也納國立歌劇團,英國皇家芭蕾舞團。

1983年成立東京富士美術館,收藏了約5000件古今東西方美術品,致力促進國際美術、文化的廣泛交流。

創價學會藉著所辦的教育機構、文化中心和日報,在日本社會上起著重要的作用。但池田大作會長的目光並不局限在日本的國境内。他所領導的學會運動,追求的是要培育出視野廣闊、懷有真正世界主義精神的人材。這點我們可以從他重視教育、文化交流活動中得到印証。1970年代,創價學會發展成一個國際性的組織。1975年一月池田大作就任國際創價學會會長。今天,國際創價學會會員遍布128個國家和地區。

作為一個堅定不移的世界和平推動者,池田氏遍訪世界各國,在他數目龐大的著述中,隨處可以見到他對促進和平、推動國際間理解所作的努力。例如在促使中日關係正常化,在主張恢復、加強聯合國功能,他都不遣餘力地貢獻重要的力量。世界各國政府、組織對他所作的種種努力而給予他的表彰和榮譽亦多得數不勝數,其中包括聯合國和平獎(1983年)和聯合國難民專員公署的人道主義獎(1989年)。為推動國際間理解及世界和平,他到世界各國進行訪問,與國際問題、文化、教育界的傑出人物,例如湯恩比、威爾遜,進行對話。他又曾在哈佛大學、莫斯科大學、法國國立研究所等幾所世界最具權威性的高等教育機構進行過演講,從一個佛教徒的觀點,論述了他對文化、教育、社會和生態環境的看法。他獲得過世界各國超過三十間學府,如北京大學和菲律賓大學頒發給他的名譽學位、教授稱號。而他尋求與國際社會建立更多聯繫的行動並沒有停止。今年他將與希伯來大學簽署一項協議;六月及七月他將赴哥倫比亞大學及丹佛大學進行演講。

在創價大學的發展過程中,該大學在追求卓越性的同時,亦充分表現出對國際主義精神的追求。在僅僅四分之一世紀的時間内——從一所大學的歷史尺度來看這只是一瞬間的時間——創價大學已發展成為日本一所具備高度競爭力,在教育工作上表現出色的大學。從去年在國家初級試中考取合格的學生數目上看,創價大學在日本1000所同儕中名列十八。該大學擁有六間學院,目前全職教職員共300人,學生人數7700人。設有研究院及五間研究所。而創價大學亦是日本最具國際化特色的其中一間大學,1985年設歐洲語文訓練中心於法國,1987年設分校於美國加州,與包括香港大學在内的世界五十多所大學締結交流協定。香港大學特別感謝池田會長寄贈寶貴的日文書籍及獎學金,使本大學的日文學生能有機會前赴創價大學進修。創價大學的教育宗旨是以高度尊重人類尊嚴為基礎,培育具備創造性、能將所學的知識及技能作最大限度運用的人材。

在創價大學教養學部大樓前的銅像,刻有以下一段文字:

君毋忘磨練英知的目的。

唯辛勤和使命,予人生價值。

我們這位名譽學位的得主亦一直以辛勤和奉獻的精神,實踐和達成他的使命。池田大作說詩不是寫出來的,是吟出來的。在他許多的詩中,他吟:

為生命和文化,

藉思想與行動,

創救濟之法,並付諸行動。

 

不是虹橋,不是夢想,

我們要建立,

比彩虹還美麗,可愛的

堅固的,不能摧毀的橋。

在他眾多的成就中,他創立了一所大學。

校監閣下,我懷著喜悅,請閣下頒發名譽文學博士學位予池田大作會長,他對亞洲教育工作作出了傑出的貢獻。

裝飾

Main content start
decoration image
 Daisaku IKEDA

151st 

Congregation

 (1996)

Daisaku IKEDA

Doctor of Letters
honoris causa

The Public Orator Professor Mimi Chan, M.A., M.PHIL., wrote and delivered the following citation:

Religious leader, philosopher, author, poet, international humanitarian, educationalist, a prominent figure in the cultural scene of the world: these names can only begin to sum up the many attributes and achievements of President Daisaku Ikeda, truly a Renaissance man. His achievements have merited international attention and acclaim. But it is chiefly in his capacity as an educator, a founder of a University and as a friend of the University of Hong Kong, that we wish to honour him.

Born and educated in Tokyo, Daisaku Ikeda grew to manhood during the dark years of the Second World War. He lost his eldest brother in combat. It was in 1947 that he met and became a disciple of Josei Toda, a leading figure in the Buddhist movement, Soka Gakkai, which aimed at interpreting and applying the teachings of the 12th Century Buddhist scholar, Nichiren. Ikeda has himself written:

'There are themes to human life

and when one has discovered his own particular theme and as an actor given it the fullest expression,a mighty dream will be born.'

The meeting with Toda was to be the turning point in his life. He discovered his particular theme and sought to realize his "mighty dream". He had joined the Soka Gakkai movement when it was in its infancy. The movement emphasized pacifism and objected to the taking of human life. Because of this its leaders Tsunesaburo Makiguchi and Josei Toda had been harassed and imprisoned by the Japanese authorities during the War. With the coming of peace the movement gained momentum in Japan because its emphasis on peace, its opposition to nuclear weapons, and its belief in social justice found favour among a war-weary population seeking to come to terms with a new post-war social and economic order.

In 1960 Ikeda succeeded Toda to become the third president of Soka Gakkai. Under his leadership the movement embarked on a period of great innovation and expansion, both in education and culture. Soka established a large number of educational establishments from nursery, through primary to senior secondary schools throughout Japan's major cities. In recent years Soka kindergartens have been opened in Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. On April 2, 1971 Soka University was opened, a few years after Daisaku Ikeda proposed its establishment.

In 1963 the Min-On Concert Association was founded to promote cultural exchange and to deepen understanding among people of different countries. It not only invites musical and performing groups from abroad to Japan but also organizes overseas tours of Japanese performers. Among world-renowned artists invited to Japan are the Vienna State Opera and the Royal Ballet.

The Tokyo Fuji Art Museum was established in 1983. The Museum houses approximately five thousand works of art from both East and West, ancient and modern. It pursues a wide spectrum of international artistic and cultural exchanges.

Soka Gakkai plays a vital part in the life of Japan through its educational institutions, its cultural centres and its daily newspaper. But our graduand has looked beyond the confines of Japan. The movement aims at fostering truly cosmopolitan outward-looking individuals. We can see this in the emphasis on educational and cultural exchanges. In the course of the 1970s Soka Gakkai became an international organization, and in January 1975 Daisaku Ikeda became president of Soka Gakkai International, which today has members in 128 countries.

As a staunch advocate of world peace Ikeda has travelled widely and published extensively in an effort to promote peace and international understanding. He has directed his energies in particular towards healing the rift between China and Japan and towards advocating a revitalized and strengthened United Nations. His efforts have won recognition in the form of countless awards and honours from countries and institutions around the world. Among these are the United Nations Peace Award (1983) and the Humanitarian Award of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (1989). In his quest for international understanding and world peace he has travelled widely, conducted dialogues with distinguished figures in international affairs, culture and education such as Arnold Toynbee and Bryan Wilson; he has lectured at some of the most prestigious institutes of higher learning, including Harvard, Moscow State University and the Institute de France, giving a Buddhist perspective to cultural, educational, social and ecological issues. He is the recipient of honorary degrees and professorships from more than thirty academic institutions throughout the world, such as Beijing University and the University of the Philippines. He continues to build up new relationships with the international community. This year he will sign an agreement with the Hebrew University and he is scheduled to give lectures at Columbia University and Denver University.

The spirit of internationalism as well as the pursuit of excellence is very much in evidence in the evolution of Soka University. In only a quarter of a century - no more than a moment in the time scale of a university's history - Soka has developed into one of the most competitive and educationally progressive institutions in Japan. In terms of the number of students who passed the national lower examination last year it ranked 18th among over 1,000 Japanese universities. It has six faculties and presently 300 full-time faculty members and 7,700 students. It has a graduate school and five research institutes. And very importantly Soka has become one of the most outward - looking of Japanese universities. In 1985 it opened a European Language Training Centre in France; in 1987, a campus was established in California. Exchange arrangements have been established with some fifty overseas universities including the University of Hong Kong. To President Ikeda our institution is beholden for donations of valuable Japanese books and scholarships which have enabled our students of Japanese to study at Soka. Soka means "value creation"; education contributes to benefit, good and beauty. The educational policy of Soka University is based on the greatest respect for human dignity; its objective is to foster creative people who can utilize their academic and technical knowledge to the fullest. On the bronze statues in front of the University's Liberal Arts Building are inscribed the words:

For what purpose should one cultivate wisdom? May you always ask yourself this question. Only labour and devotion to one's mission give life its worth.

Our graduand has pursued his mission with labour and devotion. Daisaku Ikeda believes we do not write poetry; we sing it. In one of his many poems he sings:

"For the sake of life and culture,

through thought and action we will create,

and put into practice measures for relief.

Not a bridge of rainbows, a thing of dreams,

but finer than rainbows, lovelier,

a bridge adamantine and indestructible we will build."

Among his many and varied achievements he has built a university.

Mr. Chancellor, it is my pleasure to request you to confer the degree of Doctor of Letters, honoris causa on President Daisaku Ikeda in recognition of his outstanding services to education in Asia.

decoration image