開始內容
裝飾
米耀榮

第188屆 

頒授典禮

 (2013)

米耀榮

名譽科學博士

米耀榮教授是機械工程講座教授,世界著名的材料科學和斷裂力學專家。

米教授是香港大學工程學院畢業生,1969年獲授工學士學位及威廉姆森獎(WilliamsonPrize),1972年獲頒哲學博士學位。其後數年他在美國安阿伯城的密歇根大學和倫敦帝國學院從事博士後研究工作,並於1976年加入悉尼大學,執教至今。米教授於1987年升任為悉尼大學工程學講座教授,2004年更獲委任為大學教授,並於2002年至2007年獲澳大利亞研究理事會授予聯邦研究員獎。米教授心繫香港,二十多年來一直與香港高等教育界保持緊密的合作關係。

米教授對斷裂力學、先進複合材料的特性、材料與結構的斷裂和疲勞等領域的研究作出了重大的貢獻,其研究結果徹底改革了強韌纖維複合材料和陶瓷材料的微觀結構設計,並對生產無石棉水泥、材料測試以及優化生產過程等方面的發展具有全球性的影響力。

米教授於1992年當選澳大利亞技術科學與工程學院院士,2001年當選澳大利亞科學院院士,2008年當選英國皇家學會院士,以及2011年當選英國皇家工程院院士。2010年他獲澳大利亞政府頒授國家勳章。

香港大學頒授名譽科學博士學位予米耀榮教授,以表彰他對社會及科學研究所作出的貢獻。 

裝飾

Main content start
decoration image
MAI Yiu Wing

188th 

Congregation

 (2013)

MAI Yiu Wing

Doctor of Science
honoris causa

Professor Yiu Wing Mai is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering and University Chair at the University of Sydney, and an internationally recognised pioneer in fracture mechanics and materials science.

Professor Mai received from HKU his BSc(Eng) degree and the Williamson Prize in 1969 and his PhD in 1972. After several years of postdoctoral research at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor and Imperial College in London, he began an academic career at the University of Sydney in 1976, was promoted to a Personal Chair in 1987 and appointed a University Chair in 2004. He was an inaugural Australian Federation Fellow from 2002 to 2007. Professor Mai has maintained close ties to Hong Kong and its institutes of higher learning in the past two decades.

Professor Mai has done seminal work on fracture mechanics, the characterisation of advanced materials, and the fundamental understanding of composite interfaces and crack-wake bridging, which has revolutionised the microstructure design of tough fiber composites and ceramics. His research has had a significant, lasting impact in these areas and has contributed to the development of asbestos-free cements, testing protocols and improved manufacturing processes with global impact.

Professor Mai was elected to the Fellowships of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering in 1992, the Australian Academy of Science in 2001, the Royal Society in 2008, and the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2011. He was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2010.

In recognition of his contributions to scientific research and society, the University has resolved to confer upon him the degree of Doctor of Science honoris causa

decoration image