開始內容
裝飾
鄧青雲

第199屆 

頒授典禮

 (2018)

鄧青雲

名譽科學博士

鄧青雲教授是香港科技大學賽馬會高等研究院東亞銀行教授及美國羅徹斯特大學榮休教授。他於香港接受小學及中學教育,及後於加拿大卑詩省大學修讀化學,獲頒理學士學位。他其後往美國康奈爾大學深造,並獲頒哲學博士學位。

鄧教授以有機光電子學的研究聞名全球,其研究領域是關於有機半導體為基礎的電子設備。當中以有機發光二極管(OLED)的發明最為矚目,被譽為OLED之父。

鄧教授在美國柯達研究實驗室擔任研究員時,於1986至1989年期間發表了多篇論文,驅動了有機光電子學的演進,當中包括了發現雙層有機電子發光器件,亦稱為有機異質接面,藉當中電荷的相應變化從而製造出高效能的光電子器件。

繼研究出有機太陽能電池後,他成功開發了OLED,將有機異質接面與發光半導體加以結合,以低電量產生高效能光源設備。有關文獻於1987年刊登後,被引用了超過一萬次。他的研究促成OLED技術誕生,而他於1989年開發了調校OLED色彩的技術,亦帶動了全彩色OLED顯示屏的製造與發展。

今天,OLED技術成為創造數以十億元商機的產業,而相關的技術亦廣泛應用於我們經常使用的手提電話、電視等眾多消費品與家用電子設備中。

鄧教授於2011年榮獲備受尊崇的沃爾夫化學獎。他亦獲選為港科院創院院士、香港工程科學院院士及美國國家工程學院院士。

香港大學頒授名譽科學博士學位予鄧青雲教授,以表彰他對科學、社會及世界作出了重大貢獻。

 

裝飾

Main content start
decoration image
TANG Ching Wan

199th 

Congregation

 (2018)

TANG Ching Wan

Doctor of Science
honoris causa

Professor Tang Ching Wan is the IAS Bank of East Asia Professor of the HKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, and Professor Emeritus at the University of Rochester, New York. He received his primary and secondary school education in Hong Kong and holds a BSc in Chemistry from the University of British Columbia and a PhD from Cornell University.

Professor Tang is best known for his work on organic optoelectronics, the research field related to electronic devices based on organic semiconductors. In particular, he has been recognised for the invention of the Organic Light Emitting Diode (OLED).

Between 1986 and 1989 while he was a researcher at the Kodak Research Laboratories, Professor Tang transformed the field of organic optoelectronics with his discovery of the donor-acceptor bilayer structure, also known as the organic heterojunction, which allows the generation and recombination of charges to be manipulated to produce highly efficient optoelectronic devices.

He discovered OLED in a sequel to his work on organic solar cells. By engineering an organic heterojunction with luminescent semiconductors of proper energetics, he demonstrated an efficient light emitting device capable of producing high brightness at a low voltage. Published in 1987 and cited over 10,000 times, his research gave birth to OLED technology. By 1989, he had developed an important method for tuning OLED colours, leading to the fabrication of full-colour OLED displays.

Today, OLED technology is a multibillion-dollar industry and is used in many of the consumer and household electronic devices we all take for granted, including mobile phones and televisions.

Professor Tang was awarded the prestigious Wolf Prize in Chemistry in 2011 and is a Founding Member of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong, a Fellow of the Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences, and a member of the US National Academy of Engineering.

In recognition of his contributions to science, society and the world, the University has resolved to confer upon him the degree of Doctor of Science honoris causa.

 

decoration image