開始內容
裝飾
陳展邦

第182屆 

頒授典禮

 (2010)

陳展邦

名譽科學博士

陳展邦教授是香港大學校友,1966年內外全科醫學士,1993年獲頒科學博士學位;陳教授現任美國德克薩斯州休斯敦貝勒醫學院 (Baylor College of Medicine)醫學、分子生物學及生化學教授,並且是 Betty Rutherford 糖尿病研究講座教授。

 

陳教授在糖尿病與脂肪蛋白/脂質/碳水化合物的研究取得突破性貢獻,並且致力於內分泌學的研究,在北美備受讚揚,獲頒多個獎項,包括美國心臟協會的Louis N. Katz青年研究員獎(1977)、美國心臟協會成功研究員獎(1974-1979)、國家衞生研究院優異獎(1989-1999),他又兩度獲得Michael E. DeBakey卓越研究獎:包括2003年的基礎科學及2009年的轉化研究。此外,他又獲頒德國Heinrich Wieland獎(1988),該獎項是頒發與全球於該年度在脂質相關研究領域有傑出成就的一位科學家。

 

在陳教授的眾多獎項中,最為矚目的是2007年獲得的Edwin B. Astwood Award,該獎項是內分泌學及代謝學界備受推崇的最崇高的獎項。

 

陳教授現時是美國國家衞生研究院糖尿病與代謝研究中心主任,同時是內科系糖尿病、內分泌與代謝分科的主管,他亦是多份國際著名期刊如 Metabolism, Journal of Lipid Research, Circulation等的編輯,以及多份國際生物醫學雜誌的編輯委員會成員。

 

陳教授熱心支持母校,多次返回港大出席會議及主持講座,協助開展合作研究項目及參與研究生的師友計劃。

 

香港大學頒授名譽科學博士學位予陳展邦教授,以表揚他對醫學及學術界所作出的貢獻。

 

裝飾

Main content start
decoration image
Lawrence CHAN Chin Bong

182nd 

Congregation

 (2010)

Lawrence CHAN Chin Bong

Doctor of Science
honoris causa

Professor Lawrence Chin Bong Chan is an alumnus of HKU, receiving his MBBS in 1966 and his DSc in 1993. He is currently Professor of Medicine, Molecular & Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry, as well as Betty Rutherford Chair for Diabetes Research at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas.

For his groundbreaking contributions to the areas of lipoprotein/lipid/carbohydrate metabolism and diabetes, and for his long dedication to research in the field of endocrinology, Professor Chan has received numerous North American awards. These include, inter alia, the Louis N. Katz Young Investigator Prize of the American Heart Association (1977), an Established Investigator Award of the American Heart Association (1974-1979) and the MERIT Award from the National Institutes of Health (1989-1999). He received the Michael E. DeBakey Excellence in Research Award twice, first in 2003 for basic science, and again in 2009 for translational research. He also received the Heinrich Wieland Prize from Germany (1988, an award conferred yearly to one scientist in the world for outstanding research in lipid-related fields).

Most significantly, Professor Chan was presented with the Edwin B. Astwood Award in 2007, regarded as one of the most prestigious awards in the field of endocrinology and metabolism.

Professor Chan is the Director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)-Diabetes and Endocrinology Research Center (DERC) as well as the Chief of the Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism in the Department of Medicine. He has been an Associate Editor for a number of prestigious international journals, including Metabolism, Journal of Lipid Research, and Circulation, and has also served on the editorial board of other international biomedical journals.

Professor Chan has also remained loyal to his alma mater, returning repeatedly to deliver plenary lectures at conferences, contributing to joint research projects and helping with the mentoring our postgraduate students.

In recognition of his contributions to medicine and academia, the University will confer upon Professor Lawrence Chin Bong Chan the degree of Doctor of Science honoris causa. 

decoration image