開始內容
裝飾
John Craig VENTER

第186屆 

頒授典禮

 (2012)

John Craig VENTER

名譽科學博士

John Craig Venter博士是J Craig Venter研究所的創辦人、主席兼總裁,這所不以盈利掛帥的研究機構,致力於人類、微生物、植物、合成物及環境的基因組研究,並探索有關基因組的社會及道德問題。這位企業家亦是Synthetic Genomics公司的創辦人和行政總裁,這所私營公司專門開發以基因主導的商用方案,以解決全球需要,例如:開發新能源、新的食物和營養品,以及第二代疫苗。

Venter博士肄業於加州大學聖地牙哥分校,獲頒生物化學學士及哲學博士(生理及藥劑學)後,獲水牛城紐約州立大學及Roswell Park癌病研究聘任為教授。1984年,他轉到美國國家衞生研究院,在院內開發表現序列標籤又稱ESTs,一項革命性的策略以求能快速發現基因。

1992年,Venter博士成立了基因研究所 (The Institute for Genomic Research),至1995年他與研究團隊運用他們研發的新技術完成首個自生有機物的基因解碼。1998年,他成立了Celera Genomics進行人類基因排序,並於2001年在Science科學雜誌發表其研究成果。

Venter博士與他的團隊不斷就基因組研究開發新蹊,包括完全以合成基因製造出首個可自行複製的細菌細胞。

香港大學謹頒授名譽科學博士學位予John Craig Venter博士,以表彰他對醫學研究及社會所作出的貢獻。

 

裝飾

Main content start
decoration image
 John Craig VENTER

186th 

Congregation

 (2012)

John Craig VENTER

Doctor of Science
honoris causa

Dr John Craig Venter is Founder, Chairman, and President of the J Craig Venter Institute, a not-for-profit research organization dedicated to human, microbial, plant, synthetic and environmental genomic research, and the exploration of social and ethical issues in genomics. He is also Founder and CEO of Synthetic Genomics Inc, a privately held company dedicated to commercializing genomic-driven solutions to address global needs, such as new sources of energy, new food and nutritional products, and next generation vaccines.

After earning both a Bachelor's degree in Biochemistry and a PhD in Physiology and Pharmacology from the University of California at San Diego, Dr Venter was appointed professor at the State University of New York at Buffalo and the Roswell Park Cancer Institute. In 1984, he moved to the National Institutes of Health campus where he developed Expressed Sequence Tags or ESTs, a revolutionary new strategy for rapid gene discovery.

In 1992, Dr Venter founded The Institute for Genomic Research, where in 1995 he and his team using their new technologies decoded the genome of the first free-living organism. In 1998, he founded Celera Genomics to sequence the human genome. Their successful results were published in the journal, Science, in 2001.

Dr Venter and his team continue to blaze new trails in genomics, including creating the first self-replicating bacterial cell constructed entirely with synthetic DNA.

In recognition of his contributions to medical research and society, the University has resolved to confer upon him the degree of Doctor of Science honoris causa.

 

decoration image