Five Exceptional HKU Academics
Named Croucher Research Fellows
HKU Croucher awardees with HKU President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Peter Mathieson (third from left), HKSAR Chief Secretary for Administration Mrs Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor (fourth from left) and Professor Mak Tak-wah, Chairman of Board of Trustees, Croucher Foundation (fourth from right).

In recognition of their remarkable scientific research achievements, five distinguished HKU academics were honoured with the prestigious Research Fellowships by the Croucher Foundation. The awards were presented by Mrs Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor, Chief Secretary for Administration of the HKSAR Government, at a presentation ceremony held on April 3.

Professor Danny Chan and Professor Jin Dongyan of the Department of Biochemistry were awarded Croucher Senior Research Fellowships, and Professor Annie Cheung Nga-yin, Laurence LT Hou Professor in Anatomical Molecular Pathology, was honoured with a Croucher Senior Medical Research Fellowship. Two promising scholars – Dr Yao Wang of the Department of Physics and Dr Hayden So Kwok-hay of the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering – were awarded Croucher Innovation Awards.

The Croucher Senior Research Fellowships, introduced in 1997, are awarded to local academics who have excelled in scientific research work, while the Croucher Innovation Awards, established in 2012, aim to offer substantial support to talented scientists to pursue their own professional inclinations and to contribute to the development of education and research in Hong Kong.