The Review 2004

T H E R E V I E W 2 0 0 4 21 Teaching and Learning 20 T H E R E V I E W 2 0 0 4 Honours Honorary Degrees – 2003-04 Mr Darwin Chen Mr Chen has a long career of service to the community, particularly in the arts. He is currently chair of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council and has previously been honoured for his contributions by the Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts and this University, from which he received an Honorary Fellowship. Mr Chen was conferred the degree of Doctor of Social Sciences honoris causa . The Honourable Michael Kadoorie The Honourable Michael Kadoorie is a renowned philanthropist who has donated generously to schools and agricultural projects through the Kadoorie Charitable Foundation. He is Chairman of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels Ltd and CLP Holdings Ltd. Mr Kadoorie received the degree of Doctor of Laws honoris causa . Professor Arnold George Dominic Maran Professor Maran is Professor Emeritus of Otorhinolaryngology at the University of Edinburgh and has been acclaimed internationally for his role in both clinical and basic research. He took an active interest in ensuring high standards for training and practice in Hong Kong. Professor Maran received the degree of Doctor of Science honoris causa . Ms Chan Shuk Leung (Pak Suet Sin) Ms Chan is a legendary Cantonese opera singer who has received widespread acclaim throughout her lengthy career. She set up the Yam-Pak Charitable Foundation in 1990 to support research into traditional Cantonese dramatic art. Ms Chan was conferred the degree of Doctor of Letters honoris causa . Madam Qian Zhengying Madam Qian chairs the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative and is an Academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering. She has been closely involved in water conservancy projects in China and projects that mitigated flood hazards in the Lower Yellow River. Madam Qian received the degree of Doctor of Science honoris causa . Mrs Mary Rodrigues Mrs Rodrigues has maintained exceptionally strong ties with the University, of which she is an alumna. She served three consecutive terms as Chairperson of Convocation before retiring in 2001 and has been a member of both the University Court and Council. Mrs Rodrigues received the degree of Doctor of Social Sciences honoris causa . Honorary Fellowships – 2003-04 The Honourable Mr Justice Patrick Chan Siu Oi , Permanent Judge of the Court of Final Appeal , has contributed to our Faculty of Law and governance and management review and is a member of Council. Mr Moses Cheng Mo Chi is a former Legislative Councillor and a member of the Education Commission. He is also an alumnus of the University and a member of the University Court. Mr Linus Cheung Wing Lam , Chairman of LWLC and Associates Limited, sits on our Counci l and Finance Committee and chairs the Board of Directors of the HKU School of Professional and Continuing Education. Professor Leung Nai Kong , former Chief Executive of Princess Margaret Hospital , helped to found the University Medical Alumni Association and remains an active member. Mr Lim Por Yen , philanthropist and founder of the Lai Sun Group, has donated $2 million to the HKU Foundation for Educational Development and Research, and $20 million to the University’s SARS Fund and the establishment of Jao Tsung-I Petite Ecole. Creativity is not the domain of a single thought. It requires stimulus and you have got to be in an environment that permits you to be creative. The University of Hong Kong has a faculty that is able to achieve this. They bring out the best in students, who are then equipped to bring their ideas and creative approaches into the wider community. The Hon. Michael Kadoorie