開始內容
裝飾
星雲

第182屆 

頒授典禮

 (2010)

星雲

名譽社會科學博士

星雲大師是世界知名的宗教領袖和人道主義者,同時是一位作家、教育家兼慈善家,致力弘揚佛教文化教育和慈善事業,利濟眾生為務。大師是佛光山道場的開山宗長,其創建的國際佛光會,是全球最大的國際佛教組織之一。

星雲大師為江蘇江都人,1927年出生,少年出家,他傳揚的人間佛教哲學,教導信眾入世修行,而非出世隱行。星雲大師在世界各地建寺、築校,成立大學,積極進行宗教對話,主張佛教不同派別和道場交流,備受佛學家讚譽為領導當代佛教革新的先行者。

星雲大師著作豐碩,《無聲息的歌唱》是他的第一本著作,他又創辦了多種佛教刊物,編撰佛教期刊及通訊,並且在台灣主要報章上撰文弘教,也為電台編寫稿件。

星雲大師向來積極弘法,2003年他出席港大佛學研究中心圖書館開幕禮,之後數年又經常到港大主持講座及公開演講,與師生分享智慧人生之道。

星雲大師曾就多項重大自然災難組織救援活動,包括1991年華東水災、1999年台灣九二一地震、2004年南亞海潚及2008年汶川地震,協助援解災情。他又建設了數以百計的學校、醫院、診所、孤兒院,以及在世界貧困地區開展慈善項目。

香港大學頒授名譽社會科學博士學位予星雲大師,以表揚他在發揚人道主義精神及在全世界開展慈善公益事務所作出的貢獻。

裝飾

Main content start
decoration image
Hsing Yun

182nd 

Congregation

 (2010)

Hsing Yun

Doctor of Social Sciences
honoris causa

The Venerable Master Hsing Yun is a world-renowned religious leader, author, educator, humanitarian and philanthropist. He is the founder of the Fo Guang Shan Buddhist Order and the affiliated Buddha's Light International Association, one of the largest international Buddhist organisations in the world.

Born in 1927 in rural Jiangdu, Jiangsu Province, China, Master Hsing Yun began monastic life when he was just a young boy. He has become known for his ‘Humanistic Buddhism' philosophy, which focuses on the issues of the world rather than on how to leave the world behind. Master Hsing Yun is credited by Buddhist scholars as one of the forefront leaders in the modern reformation of Buddhism, by opening monasteries, universities and schools around the world, as well as engaging in religious dialogue with other Buddhist sects and religious orders.

Master Hsing Yun's first book, Singing in Silence, would be the first of many. He also founded several Buddhist publications, edited Buddhist periodicals and newsletters, wrote articles for major Taiwanese newspapers, and composed scripts for radio broadcast.

HKU has also benefitted from Master Hsing Yun's philosophy of outreach, attending the opening ceremony of the Centre of Buddhist Studies Library in 2003, and returning regularly in the following years to share his wisdom with us in his lectures and public talks.

Master Hsing Yun has organised massive relief activities for major natural disasters, including the 1991 flood in East China, the 1999 Taiwan earthquake, the 2004 tsunami in South Asia, and the 2008 Sichuan earthquake. He has also set up hundreds of schools, hospitals, clinics, orphanages and charity projects in poverty-stricken communities around the world.

In recognition of his contributions to humanitarian and philanthropic causes around the world, the University will confer upon the Venerable Master Hsing Yun the degree of Doctor of Social Sciences honoris causa.

decoration image